It was not too long ago that I was exactly where you are; a student wondering what I’ll do after graduation and if I’ll be able to find a job that would enable me to support myself into t
he next chapter of my life.

I applied, applied….and I applied. Then, I re-applied (because surely, image of Jelena Vulic these fine employers were not receiving my resume and cover letter correctly if a university educated person such as my self was not getting a call back!). As it turns out, they were receiving my resume but what I needed to even be considered for an entry level job was, you guessed it, EXPERIENCE!

Now, what really discouraged me at the time was this notion that I needed experience to find employment yet no one was willing to take me on and give me the opportunity to gain said experience.  At the time, I was re-reading John Irving’s “A Prayer for Owen Meany” (which by the way is a classic that you must read. You are welcome) and I remember thinking to myself, despite the fact that Owen is fictional, these ideas resonated with me “Everyone has their own hardships. You have no excuses to hide behind. Zero. No one is going to make anything happen for you unless you make it happen for yourself”. So,  I began cold calling companies and although awkward at times, it was worth it because someone did take me on. It was un-paid, but it was a learning experience that I’m grateful for as it marked the start of what so far has been a meaningful career.

If you are able to relate to my story, then I have some great news for you! I have been busy organizing the Get Experience Fair that will be taking place on September 23rd at the RAWC from 10 am to 2 pm. The purpose of this event is to connect students to employers looking to hire UTM students for volunteer, part-time and on-campus opportunities. It doesn’t matter what year of study or program you are in as there is something for everyone. This is a great chance to learn about opportunities that will enhance your resume and make you more marketable to future employers.  Here are some of the benefits:

  • Volunteer Opportunities: Volunteering your time toward a cause has many benefits that extend beyond building friendships and helping your community. Volunteering builds confidence, communication skills and leadership skills to name a few.
  • Part-time Opportunities: Part-time work allows students to earn some extra money while gaining valuable work experience. Remember that transferable skills are key! For example, time management skills that you gain while working at a restaurant can be applied to any job in the future.
  • On-Campus Opportunities: Did you know you can find part-time work right he
    re on our campus? That’s right! Whether unpaid or paid, working on campus allows you to connect to your UTM community and take part in many exciting programs and initiatives that can help you better understand your passions and interests!

I love watching students connecting to employers and their community. It’s what drives and inspires me. Knowing that I am helping students tap into their potential is incredibly rewarding. I look forward to seeing you at the fair!  Here’s my photo.  Be sure to say hello.

