Interesting work, great ideas, beautiful art and music all inspire me. All of these involve creativity and ingenuity. The lived experience of people as they engage in their creativity has always fascinated me. That’s why I love TEDTalks. Just reading through the list of TEDTalks is usually enough to get me thinking more creatively. If these people can ask their questions, find solutions and create or do something interesting, somehow that makes it seem possible for me to do something “more” in my day.

As Career Outreach Consultant, I work with members of the UTM community to bring career education to UTM students. I work with campus partners to help students explore questions like:

  •  What can I do with my degree?
  • Where can I get some experience?
  • I like so many things – how do I choose?

The first step is to take advantage of the rich environment we enjoy here.

Did you know that UTM hosted a TEDX conference two years ago? We did! Two creative and energetic students led a team to host a TED conference right here at UTM and along the way developed a lot of skills and experiences to help them answer these questions.

The key is to find what inspires you. Figure out what lights a fire in you and then find others that share the vision. At UTM we have so many opportunities both in and outside of the classroom. Take advantage of UTM clubs week to talk to student involved with the clubs, find out about the academic society for your area(s) of study and pay attention to which opportunities gets you excited. That’s the one to start with, you’ll be happy that you did!

rainbow colored spark ignited by a wooden match

Let me know which club/society you join. Comment below!

